Love is in the Air

Marianne StuartIt is with much anticipation that I am spending these last few weeks before I leave for my annual getaway with my husband. I have started a stash of things that I want to take in the corner of my basement. For now it’s only something that I have never bought in all of the years of my parenting: little containers of baby food. We will be leaving our 7 oldest children home with our college babysitter and taking our 9 month old son, Andrew, with us. 

 

EAA Airventure
By the time you read this, Guy and I will have just returned from our adventure at Oshkosh, WI, for the EAA  Airventure Show. It is a week-long aviation event that is attended by 500,000-600,000 people. During the last week of July, Wittman Airfield will be the busiest airport in the world! This will be our 7th year at Oshkosh.  

Guy at the AirstripGuy received his pilot’s license when he was 19 but I didn’t get mine until about 7 years ago. Guy hadn’t been flying in many years and decided to start flying again with all of us. I took a “Wife’s Pinch Hitter” course and found it inadequate so I went through Ground School and then took flying lessons.

Getting My Pilot’s License
I had wanted to attend the event for a few years before we actually went. Guy was reluctant to go, but promised if I managed to get my pilot’s license that we could attend.  If you know me, that was quite the feat!  Working to get my license was the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. It didn’t come naturally, as I am sure my Certified Flight Instructor, Mike Pidek, could attest to, but by the grace of God I managed!  I am now one of the 6% of  female pilots in the United States.  

Tenting It
The week in Oshkosh is spent with our tent pitched next to our airplane in a field of planes almost as far as the eye can see. This might be a slight exaggeration, but the numbers of planes and tents dotting the airports grounds is really unbelievable! There are usually about 10,000 planes tied down the week of Oshkosh with many pilots camping out under the wings of their plane. Many bring campers and many drive in just for the day. We are brought together by the love of aviation. 

Watching the Planes Come in and Land
My favorite thing to do is to sit by the runway with my scanner and listen to the controllers talking to the pilots and watching the planes come in and land. What a sight it is to see three planes landing on the same runway at the same time, not to mention the parallel taxiway that is turned into a temporary runway for this week! Pilots are instructed to land on “the numbers,” a green dot, or a pink dot, which are painted on the runway in different spots. I am getting excited just thinking about it!

You can also walk the grounds and see the many planes on display for the week. There are impressive airshows daily and you can wander through many buildings of everything aviation! There are early evening concerts and evening movies which are shown on a huge blow up screen. We have yet to see the movies because by the end of the day we are ready to lay low at our campsite and recover from being in the sun all day. Somehow, Oshkosh manages to be hotter and more humid than Owosso ever seems to be.  

Purely Selfish Reasons
Some ask why we don’t take all of our children on this trip. For me, it is purely selfish reasons. I love the time with my husband, Guy, all to myself. Just the two of us — or the three of us if we happen to have a baby at the time. For part of one week out of the year I get to have some much loved one-on-one time with my husband, never mind that we are surrounded by thousands of people that week! There aren’t dishes to be done, laundry that needs washing and folding, kids needing our attention, or the usual business of being a parent. It is a nice, long, extended date.

Dating Keeps us Connected
We do date when we are at home. We probably go on more dates than most couples. We have our Thursday night out for Mexican food and margaritas and Saturday morning breakfasts at the Crosswinds Cafe at the Owosso Airport — but I don’t think I could get too many dates with Guy.  Dates keep us connected. They remind us why we got married in the first place. I am not worried that when all of the kids move out, which will not be for at least 17 years, that we will look at each other and say, “What do we do now?”

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] It is with much anticipation that I am spending these last few weeks before I leave for my annual getaway with my husband. I have started a stash of things that I want to take in the corner of my basement. For now it’s only something that I have never bought in all of the years of my parenting: little containers of baby food. We will be leaving our 7 oldest children home with our college babysitter and taking our 9 month old son, Andrew, with us. … Read More […]

    Reply

  2. What an exciting story! Love the details. Sounds fun. the link on women pilots was very cool.

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

