What Do You Want for Christmas?

Laura Jafri
By Laura Jafri

Are You Already Exhausted?
The holiday season has only just begun and as usual, I’m tired already. It seems like every year, Thanksgiving comes and I hit the ground running. I know that I am not alone on this one. Why does it have to be so overwhelming? It’s so hard to enjoy it when all we do is worry about the next thing on our list that we need to do. I have thought about it a lot over the last week. My personality is the type that needs to have everything really organized and if it needs to be done, it should have been done yesterday. It’s a very stressful way of thinking sometimes. I’m really going to try to enjoy things more this year. I always end up enjoying the holidays, but it’s a stressful road. I guess I feel like I’m at a point in my life where I just want to slow down and enjoy what I have. I have a great husband and five amazing children. When you constantly go at a break-neck speed, it’s impossible to really feel good and enjoy your life. I’m making a promise to myself to try to do what I can, but to make sure that there is some real quality time that I spend with my family this year. I want to make memories that I will be able to remember and keep with me forever. It can be hard to do that if your memories are all a blur.  

Take Time to Disconnect
Thanksgiving was nice, but I’m really looking forward to Christmas this year. It’s amazing what happens when people put their phones, iPads, computers, etc. down for a while. We don’t need to have the TV on. All we need to do is look at the people around us and truly enjoy them. Who they are, what they think and what they say. It’s miraculous how, without the electronic distractions, our family can talk, laugh, and play together. It’s so nice to feel like you have time to talk with and listen to your children.

Share Dinner Together
One of my favorite things to do is to have dinner together. Growing up in an immigrant Italian family, that’s what you did. You always ate together as a family and it wasn’t a rushed, crazy time. We sat and talked and laughed. It’s a perfect time to connect with your family members and see how their day was. It’s always a social event in an Italian household and I want that for my kids.  I want them to grow up and have those warm memories.

Taking it Downstairs
One of my children’s favorite things to do is have “downstairs time”—when the whole family goes to the basement after dinner and plays together. There is no agenda—just real, free time to do whatever we feel like doing.

Giving Yourself Is One of The Greatest Gifts
I think that I’m reaching a point in my life where I’m tired of being tired. It isn’t any fun being too spread thin. I want to make sure that I have no regrets as far as the time that I give to my family. I really believe that giving yourself to your loved ones is the greatest gift you can ever give them. That is something that will not only stay with you forever, but it will stay with all of them forever too. I don’t think that I will look back one day and think, “I should have gotten more done instead of having that great night with my family.” We all work too hard and forget what life is truly about.

I think that I know what I want for Christmas this year. I want to slow down and spend REAL quality time with my family—unadulterated time without the numerous distractions of this day and age. I want to make memories that will bless my whole family forever.  What’s on your Christmas list?

I hope that everyone has a peaceful and blessed Christmas!

===========================================================================================

Disclaimer
The views expressed in the posts and comments of this blog do not necessarily reflect Memorial Healthcare. They should be understood as the personal opinions of the author.

Comment Policy
All readers are encouraged to leave comments. While all points of view are welcome on Memorial Healthcare’s blog, only comments that are courteous and on-topic will be posted. All comments will be reviewed and responded to (as needed) within three business days of submission. Participants on this blog are fully responsible for everything that they submit in their comments, and all posted comments are in the public domain.

Linking Policy
This blog may contain external links to other sites. Memorial Healthcare does not control or guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of information on these Web sites. Links to particular items in hypertext are not intended as endorsements of any views expressed, products or services offered on outside sites, or the organizations sponsoring those sites.

One response to this post.

  1. Laura you captured the very essence of how my heart feels. Thank you for encouraging words.Have a Very Marry Christmas!

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

