What’s Your New Year’s Resolution

By: Tracey Heslip
Memorial Mommy Blogger

This is the time of season when people start to think about the New Year.  What kind of commitments or resolutions are they going to make?  I would like to share some helpful tips and links to help you with one of the most common New Year’s resolution, weight loss.

This past August I was really not feeling well and went to the doctor. After several tests, we found out that my gall bladder doesn’t work.  During a consult with Dr. Nathan Tomita, we decided that I would keep my gall bladder but change my diet to see if the pain I was having would go away.  After one week on a very low-fat diet, I could tell a major difference.  Not only were my food choices low-fat, I was also eating less.

Two years ago I had given up fast food and I had already felt that my food choices were good.  I wasn’t eating a lot of processed food or dairy. Now when I say fat-free, I’m not talking about going shopping and buying everything you normally would just in the fat-free option.  I’m talking about cutting way back on portion sizes and reading labels. You’d be surprised at what the fat content is in some of your favorite foods.

Almond milk has been a huge help in transitioning to my new way of eating and is my new favorite food.  It has a lot of vitamins and comes in dark chocolate.  My family can sit down and eat a bowl of ice cream at night and I can get a glass of almond milk and not feel deprived.  If you’d rather try rice milk or soy those are options also.

Another huge help has been myfitnesspal.com. It works like Facebook where you can add friends and encourage each other.  There are different privacy settings that you can choose if you want people to be able to view your food diary or not.  My name on fitness pal is jtheslip.  Feel free to ask to be my friend so we can encourage each other throughout the year. The thing I like most about myfitnesspal.com is the food diary. It automatically figures your daily target calorie intake by using your height and weight measurements.  You fill in your food diary and it gives you a complete breakdown of fats, sugar, carbs, sodium, and protein. This will totally amaze you!!! It also has an exercise log and it will calculate how many calories you’ve burned.

I’ve lost over 20 pounds and I feel great! I’m not done losing; I have a long way to go. This is only the beginning. The year 2012 will be the year of exercise for me as I plan to supplement my healthy eating with keeping my body in motion.

I would like to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

What will your New Year’s resolution be?

============================================================== 

Disclaimer
The views expressed in the posts and comments of this blog do not necessarily reflect Memorial Healthcare. They should be understood as the personal opinions of the author.

Comment Policy
All readers are encouraged to leave comments. While all points of view are welcome on Memorial Healthcare’s blog, only comments that are courteous and on-topic will be posted. All comments will be reviewed and responded to (as needed) within three business days of submission. Participants on this blog are fully responsible for everything that they submit in their comments, and all posted comments are in the public domain.

Linking Policy
This blog may contain external links to other sites. Memorial Healthcare does not control or guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or completeness of information on these Web sites. Links to particular items in hypertext are not intended as endorsements of any views expressed, products, or services offered on outside sites, or the organizations sponsoring those sites.

Please Leave a Reply

